June Goal Update!

Goal: Train for and run the following races: Jaeger Run for Pride, Dash for Donation, Emerald City quarter marathon, and the half at the Columbus Marathon.
Status: My overall training has been put on hold due to first my ankle (which thankfully seems pretty well healed) and now my hip/IT band. I’m pretty sure that I can do the first two since they are just 5ks, but I need to get myself out more. I have only run a handful of times in the past couple of weeks.

Goal: Strength train 3x a week.
Status: I keep telling myself that I’m going to go back to the gym.  My physical therapist tells me that I can go back.  I’m just nervous.  Next week, I will get in there even if it’s only once. By the end of June, I want to be back in regularly.

Goal: Write every day.
Status: I keep telling myself this is going to change. Focus required.  Yesterday, I tested the WordPress app to see what it was like posting from it.  I am hoping this will at least increase some blog activity.  I have just been feeling a little bummed in general (lack of running??) and so less than inspired.

Goal: Read at least one book a month.
Status: Finished Wild by Cheryl Strayed. It almost, almost made me want to consider doing something like the Pacific Crest Trail myself. But then I realized that I have no experience in the outdoors, I can’t take months off of work, and I am also not crazy. I am just not made of the stuff that thrives in the wild.  So…  After I finished that, I picked up Storm of Swords since the latest Game of Thrones season is almost over and I can read ahead now.

Goal: Save money/budget reboot!
Status: I think I need to get a little more specific with this one as my current methods just aren’t working.  So for June, my goal is to use x amount of dollars a week in non-required spending (in other words, not bills). No more. For instance, I have about $30 in my wallet right now and it will have to last me until next Friday.  This game only works if you actually budget out and buy the necessities like gas and groceries and then work on the rest from there, I think.  At least, that’s what I’m currently doing.

Goal: Try something new once a month.
Status:  For May, I went to see a dietician.  I’m not sure yet what June will hold, but I’m sure that I will come up with something.

Goal: Gratitude.
Status: Well this sunk like a stone. I really feel like this could benefit my overall outlook on life, so I’m going to try this one again. Let’s see how it goes.

4 thoughts on “June Goal Update!

Leave a Reply

