Automattic’s WWWP5k

I have LOTS of things to catch up on around here, but I wanted to write a quick post about my participation in Automattic’s Worldwide WP 5k on the 27th.  I love the idea of participating in these types of virtual little races.  They don’t cost anything, you compete with yourself, and yet you’re still part of something bigger.

My RunKeeper page for it is here.  The run itself was one of the best ones I’ve had recently.  I felt like I was getting my ankle under control.  I also felt much improved performance-wise.  I mean, the run itself was pretty slow.  I am still transitioning back and speed is not what I’m after right now.  Slow and steady and form-focused is going to win the race against injury.

For some reason, I have to say that this day out was especially nice because it was one of those runs where I just felt appreciative to be out.  It was such a perfect day weather and temperature-wise.  I am a sucker for clear, sunny days with a nice breeze.  I thought about all of the things that I never would have noticed about my extended neighborhood if I hadn’t started running.  There are great houses around with lots of nice flowers, a few parks hidden away here and there.  I like to run by the houses of people who have smiled and said hello to me as I’ve run.  I’ve had some creepy interactions on a few days, so I like to remember the not-so-creepy people who greet me with a smile and a wave as I go by.  I run by their house and think nice thoughts. Who knows if that actually helps anyone out, but it certainly can’t hurt.

I did go a little over the 5k distance.  I felt so good that day that I wouldn’t have minded going even further, but I had to wrap it up. Afterwards, stretching and foam rolling and recovery were all great.  It was just such a good overall run.

Unfortunately, my next run after that wasn’t quite the same, so looking back on this one makes me really happy.

There you have it.  My Automattic WWWP5k: 3.34 miles all by my lonesome on a variation of my regular route. I think I’ll definitely participate in more races like this one. Just putting that little spin on my run helped make it a better experience.

One thought on “Automattic’s WWWP5k

Leave a Reply

