Running! Update! Again!

Today was a big day.  Today, I ran for 20 minutes consecutively and for over a mile and a half straight.  Both are accomplishments for me.  If you had asked me a few months ago whether I would/could do that, I would have laughed at you.  Thinking back on when I was just having a hard time running for five minutes straight puts it into perspective. I have changed up my training a little as time has gone on.  I realize now that when I started, I really had it all wrong.

I am again using an app for training.  It’s the same app I have been using, but they renamed it and did some altering to the plan since the official Couch-to-5k training is under trademark. Honestly, the offical C25k app is not so good compared to this one, so I’m sticking with it.  The same app makers have other apps for 10k and a half-marathon as well.  Hopefully it will be easy to just keep on training.

As far as current training goes, I have also stopped focusing on increasing my speed.  For awhile, I was really worried about pace and making sure that I was always increasing it. Now, I have kept the same pace but am just working on sticking to what the training requires as far as time is concerned.  When I am running outside and can’t maintain a set pace as easily, I go for distance and usually end up around the same pace.  I can see now that my problem when I finally get to the actual 5k is going to be the pacing.  I try to improve it every time I am off the treadmill, but it’s really hard to stay consistent.  I just think I need to pay more attention to how the pace feels on the treadmill and try to replicate it on the ground. I am not quite fully prepared for super cold outdoor running, but I am planning on getting outside as much as I can until it starts snowing.

All in all, I am super happy with the progress.  After my run today, I have just felt like I can totally kick that 5k’s ass come February.  I’m already looking at the next race after that. Ha!

 

I haven’t posted resources in awhile, so here are some things I have been looking at…

The Once and Future Way to Run :: written by the man behind Born to Run, includes a video about the 100-up exercise

Stretch It Out :: stretches!

Running with Eric: Run Drills and Technique :: a video of drills and technique, primarily with a forefoot strike focus.

The Clymb :: gear at a discount

Cold Weather Training and Your Body

Capital City Half Marathon :: what I plan on doing after February

Leave a Reply

