The Long Road to 5k: The First Race Decision

I want this little badge of honor to be mine.

It’s why I’m doing Couch-to-5k to begin with, right?  A 5k is the goal.  When I first started, I think just finishing the program was my goal.  I had been dealing with my back injury for so long and was so discouraged about my lifting progress, I needed something new.  So far, running (or the equivalent to it that I am currently doing) has opened up a lot of new fascinating things, whole worlds that I never thought I’d have any interest in.  I still have a very long way to go with C25k and a whole lot more to learn, but I’m on the right track.  Now my eyes are on the next prize: my first race.

I stumbled upon the Royal Family 5k via Runner’s World (my new small obsession).  Running through Epcot? You can really do that? Sign me up! I couldn’t think of a better first race. Epcot is one of my favorite Disney parks, plus I could go and see my parents in Florida.  It’s a win-win.  My mom gets to watch me race and my reward will be her famous chicken casserole. It all makes sense.

So I decided that this should be my first race about a week ago.  Since then, I keep staring at the race page, daring myself to go ahead and register. My mom expressed some concerns about having surgery in October and racing February.  The doctor said I could get back to working out 2 weeks from surgery if everything went well. I expect that there will be some catch-up on my training, but I’m sure that if you asked me to do a 5k today I could finish.  I can walk at least as fast as the 16min/mile requirement (It must be a real race! It has a real requirement!), so even if I’m slow or have to walk part of it, I can do this.  But I don’t want to walk it.

I want to run it.

Leave a Reply

